Art Blog, C&CS

Trip Week 02

Primary research presentation

On 13th February, we went to London to visit different museums around the area of Kensington and did some primary resource for our Final Major Project. I found some works and models in the V&A and Natural History Museum.

2006AX9966_jpg_l

The Fallen Angel, France (1895)
Artist: Auguste Rusin (1840 – 1917)
Materials: Bronze
Location: V&A, The Dorothy and Michael Hiztze Galleries
Height: 53.3 cm, Width: 81.2 cm

 

The first work I want to write about is the Fallen Angel, the extreme physical movements of the two characters makes the sculpture looks emotional and strong. According to the V&A website, Rusin worked on different formal sculptures and combined them into new sculptures. And it is about the Fall of Icarus that Icarus flew too high to the sun and the wax connects between his body and the wings melt led to his fall. I like how narrative the sculpture shows, although I think it is difficult to see the two human figures separately, it gives a sorrow feeling to the audience.

Moreover, the title of the fallen angel makes me think of my theme about LGBT, which people always focus on the point that they will going to hell, like a fallen angel. Also, the blurry figures also can give emotion information to the audience.

相片 13-3-2017 12 45 07

 

The Swan, Germany (1992)
Artist: Timur Novikov (1958-2002)
Materials: Screenprint on black paper, ink
Location: V&A, The Edwin and Susan Davies Galleries
Height: 59.9 cm, Width: 59.8 cm

 

 

 

This is one of the early works by Timur Novikov that putting small objects on a large piece of coloured paper. He once talked about how magnitude of spaces and objects did to human vision. And this sort of minimalism idea gives the object more attention from the people rather than a large object. Having the classic Russian fairy tale Swan Lake idea on the piece. It gives me the atmosphere I want to create with my FMP comic with such similar concept on the cover or blank page for emphasis.

2006AN5938_jpg_l.jpg

 

The Miraculous Draught of Fishes, Italy (1515-16)
Artist: Raphael (1483-1520)
Materials: Bodycolour
Location: V&A, The Raphael Cartoons
Height: 320 cm, Width: 390 cm

 

 

I have heard many times of this story on the bible when I was studying in a Catholic school. Jesus told Peter to cast net on a particular area of the water to catch a lot fish, which referred Peter as “fisher of men”. Therefore, Raphael gave the visual of that event and the atmosphere is similar to what I thought in the past, the use of watercolour is fascinating for me although the colour had been faded from the clothes of Jesus Christ.

For my project, I will set the background in my school, which is a Catholic school. But I am not sure if anything will apply on my idea, the atmosphere may be referred on my development to my final piece.

相片 13-3-2017 14 24 02.jpgAfter visiting the V&A, we went to the Natural History Museum. They did not get any art pieces, mostly are model for reference. This baby figure made me think of the self-identity about human us. There also were sounds of the heat beats of the baby to give audience to experience on the situation. And I want to add the sound on my piece, like music to express more on the situation than words and images. I would like to try, as I did not do such thing before.

 

 

相片 13-3-2017 14 11 04

 

 

 

And I saw other animal models in the exhibition but bats makes me think of devil and some thought about the fallen angel, they could be appeared in story as they can act as metaphor to present the situation more narrative and thoughtfully. The influence may be from the various media programme, which they gave the evil impression to the audience. Overall, the tour in Natural History Museum gave the impression on how I can give information virtually.

 

 

 

 

Reference:

http://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O70792/the-fallen-angel-group-rodin-auguste/

http://www.greekmythology.com/Myths/Mortals/Icarus/icarus.html

http://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O102006/the-miraculous-draught-of-fishes-cartoon-for-a-raphae

 

Leave a Reply

